Nikon 80-400mm Lens Review

Nikon 80-400mm Lens Review

“Worth every penny in my opinion.”

nikon nikkor 80-400

Yes, without a doubt this lens is worth the price.
I have not used it with film but I couldn’t be happier with how it performs on my
digital D200.
There is a reason that the pro’s use lenses from the manufacturer of their cameras.
The same reason that these lenses cost more! Quality, durability and performance!
When you hook this lens up to the new camera technology the performance is quick and responsive. Yes, the autofocus does hunt at times, usually as you focus the first time. It is an easy switch to manual focus and also can be slightly adjusted manually during exposure lock. Images are crisp and colors are superb!
Personally I like the weight and substantial feel of this lens. When extended to full zoom the balance is not quite as nice but certainly manageable for me. I am over 6ft tall and could see where someone of smaller size would find this lens to be heavy. As far as I am concerned the size and weight are as they should be for a quality lens with this range.
Build quality is very good! Controls are in the right place and quickly become intuitive. I have to disagree with other complaints in regards to the tripod collar.
The one that came with my camera fits tightly and securely. It also removes very easily and since it is heavy the weight reduction is noticeable.
This lens comes with a very rugged pouch and strap as well as front and rear caps and lens shade. The lens shade is big! Suffice it to say that if you are using the lens shade on this lens it looks like something from the sidelines of an NFL game.
Bottom line is this is my favorite lens!
I thought long and hard about getting the 70-200mm AFS and the 80-200AFS nikkor lenses. Not a day goes by that I haven’t been glad I put my money towards this lens with it’s much bigger zoom range. Remember the 1.5 factor when using with digital sensor.
Good luck!

More Nikon 80-400mm Reviews from Amazon:

Check out Amazon.com for more reviews of Nikon’s 80-400mm, it has more consumer reviews and reports than any other site online:

reviews of nikon 80-400mm

Price Range: $XXXX to $1549.39
Best Price: $$ Click To See Today’s Sale Price $$


Nikon 80-400mm Lens Review By projectmgr (san mateo, ca)
- More Reviews from Amazon.com

Leave a Reply

