Nikon 55-200 DX Review

Nikon 55-200 DX Review

“Don’t let the price fool you, it’s actually a pretty good lens”

nikon nikkor 55-200

I first bought this 55-200mm through an outside vendor and it’s amazing how these electronics megastores will mark up their items to a ridiculous price. This lens is NOT worth over $200 and if you paid that much, I advise you return it and save $$$$ by ordering through amazon.com which was what I did. I returned this nice lens to that store but bought it again through amazon.com and saved $100! Anyways, this lens goes great with my 18-55mm lens that came with my Nikon D50. The 3.6x zoom is not bad at all and if you can live with the slow autofocus, it’s actually pretty good bang for your buck. You start losing a little depth when you near 200mm. The images are still sharp (depth starts to suffer the more you zoom in). This lens is actually quite good in regards to image quality. If you’re expecting rapid focus, this lens is not for you. No matter how good the lens/camera is, I always photo edit afterwards anyway. This lens is worth the money if you are not really willing to fork out the $$$ for Vibration Reduction (don’t get me wrong, it’s great to have, but I was taking pictures fine with a tripod and remote and I don’t mind lugging those along). Plus changing lens is no big deal for a photographer of my type. This 55-200mm lens is a winner in my opinion.

More Nikon 55-200mm Reviews from Amazon:

Check out Amazon.com for more reviews of Nikon’s 55-200mm, it has more consumer reviews and reports than any other site online:

reviews of nikon 55-200mm

Price Range: $XXX to $189.99
Best Price: $$ Click To See Today’s Sale Price $$


Nikon 55-200 DX Review By Ratboy55 (Hercules, CA)
- More Reviews from Amazon.com

Leave a Reply

