Nikon 24-70mm Lens Review

Nikon 24-70mm Lens Review

Outstanding quality, as expected

nikon nikkor 24-70

The image quality from this lens is, as other reviews indicate, nothing short of spectacular. Having used its ancestor, the Nikon 28-70mm f/2.8, I am not surprised in the least. Despite specifications to the contrary, the 24-70mm feels lighter in my hands than the 28-70mm did, and if it is possible, somewhat more responsive. Perhaps the weight distribution is more even in the 24-70mm than it was in the previous iteration.

After using this lens for a few weeks, two things did surprise me:

1. I don’t miss VR in the slightest. I was, to put it mildly, dismayed to find out that Nikon did not include VR in their latest evolution of their fixed-aperture standard zoom. I was, to put it mildly, pleased to see that I get proper exposures with 1/100s shutter speed or higher in all the situations where it matters to me. The configurable auto-ISO on the D300 is a life-saver in this respect; I expect this observation will only become more true as camera technology improves. I suspect Nikon planned this all along.

2. The difference between f/2.8 and f/4.5 is substantial. For the longest time, I kept using my trusty 18-70mm f/3.5-4.5 lens, because I felt sure that I wouldn’t benefit very much from the extra 1/3 to 4/3 stops that the fixed f/2.8 lens has to offer. I was wrong.

I primarily use this lens indoors, and for basic portrait work. For these settings, it is exemplary; my only regret is that this lens may put my 50mm f/1.4 out of business. That would be a sad development.

Another area where this lens shines is quasi-macro work. With a reproduction ratio slightly better than 1:4, you get respectably close to small subjects, and have beautifully out-of-focus backgrounds at f/2.8 and 70mm. Shots of single flowers at close range against an interesting background, for example, turn out quite nicely.

I’m very much looking forward to using this lens for the next decade or two (or more). DX digital, FX digital, film– whatever your game is, if you need a lens that covers this range, I don’t think you will find any better than this for quite some time.

More Nikon 24-70mm Reviews from Amazon:

Check out Amazon.com for more reviews of Nikon’s 24-70mm, it has more consumer reviews and reports than any other site online:

reviews of nikon 24-70mm

Price Range: $XXXX to $1689.99
Best Price: $$ Click To See Today’s Sale Price $$


Nikon 24-70mm Lens Review By Kyle Lanclos (California)
- More Reviews from Amazon.com

Leave a Reply

