Nikon AF 70-300mm Review

Nikon AF 70-300mm Review

Best lens in its category

nikon nikkor 70-300 f/4.5-5.6G

I got this lens to replace my older Quantaray 70-300mm. I got tired to losing a lot of images to camera shake at the 300mm end. Plus the lens I had was old (almost 10 years) and optically it wasn’t that great.

The Nikkor 70-300mm w/VRII is perfect for me. I love the way the VR works. I’ve been able to get useable images taken at the 300mm end with a 1/6th shutter. Very impressive. No more camera shake issues at the long end. I’m also very impressed with how sharp it is (it is sharper than my 18-70mm) and also the focus is fast and quiet. It is on the big side, but not to much larger than any other 70-300mm lens. I’m very happy with the performance of this lens. I find the addition of the VR to be very much worth it.

Granted its not a fast lens and I never intended it to take the place of or performe like an f/2.8 lens. Its not fair to compare it to any f/2.8 lens. Comparing to the previous 2 Nikkor 70-300mm models or any of the 3rd party 70-300mm’s, this newest Nikkor addition is the best. For the average amerture hobbiest this is a great lens to compliment any of the kit lenses.

More Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 Reviews from Amazon:

Check out Amazon.com for more reviews of Nikon’s 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6, it has more consumer reviews and reports than any other site online:

reviews of nikon 70-300mm

Price Range: $XXX to $597.79
Best Price: $$ Click To See Today’s Sale Price $$


Nikon AF 70-300mm Review By Kyle D. Gendron (Burlington, MA United States)
- More Reviews from Amazon.com

Leave a Reply

