Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 VR Review

Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 VR Review

“Amazing Lens”

nikon nikkor 70-300 f/4.5-5.6G

Up front I have to admit that I’m comparing this lens to 20 and 30 year old Nikkors of the pre-autofocus era, and the main lens it replaces is a Nikkor Reflex 500mm. So it isn’t saying much that the 70-300mm VR makes my old longest focal length lens seem of another class and era—obviously that’s true. Even so, I’m very impressed with the crisp clarity of images from this lens. The ED optics in combination with the image stabilization technology provide amazing sharpness even at hand-held shutter speeds I would never have considered using with my old equipment (at 300mm I can shoot 1/60 sec without losing sharpness, so I’ve gained at least 2.5 stops over my old set up). At 300mm focal length the autofocus mechanism does get confused sometimes, but I believe it’s a function of the demands I’m making on the lens—trying to focus on birds with twigs, leaves, etc. in both the foreground and background. In such conditions it’s best to disable autofocus. With the 10 megapixel capability of my D80 added to the features of this lens I’m able to get shots I would never have thought possible before. Others have written that they can see the VR mechanism working in the viewfinder, but I don’t; I feel the lens doing something when VR is engaged, but the viewfinder image looks normal to me. Can’t explain that. Considering what the lens can do I find it quite light and reasonably sized, but I’m comparing it to the 500mm mirror lens on a F3 motor drive body, so folks may want to judge my comments as highly subjective. As for price, if not for this lens I probably would have waited to buy a 300mm f4 which of course would not have VR, would have been tripod-bound, and would have been more than twice the cost; so, again, for what this lens can do, it’s a great buy.

More Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 Reviews from Amazon:

Check out Amazon.com for more reviews of Nikon’s 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6, it has more consumer reviews and reports than any other site online:

reviews of nikon 70-300mm

Price Range: $XXX to $597.79
Best Price: $$ Click To See Today’s Sale Price $$


Nikon 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 VR Review By Pileated (CT, USA)
- More Reviews from Amazon.com

Leave a Reply

