Nikon 24-120mm Lens Review

Nikon 24-120mm Lens Review

“Very Good Consumer Ouality Lens”

nikon nikkor 24-120

I shoot events for a major university. I use a Nikon D3 and just started to spend some real money on glass. Let me tell you the old adage is true. You get what you pay for. That said, the Nikon 24-120mm 3.5 zoom lens is a very good lens for the money. I have been using it to shoot the events for about three months. Let me tell you what I experienced with the camera stuck to my face all day long. This lens is much sharper then is reported. It is rather slow it’s true. However with the D3 you push the ISO and there isn’t too much of a problem. There is some vignetting at 24mm which can be corrected in photoshop. The “VR” is terrific and the auto focus is very fast! Just make sure you focus on your main spot in the frame. It is easy to get an out of focus image with this lens if you are not careful! The build quality is good. It is pretty smooth to zoom with and is just light enough to stay on your camera for most of the time. I really like this lens. Much better then the cheap 55-200mm Zoom. That lens feels like it is made out of cardboard! The main reason I just came back from buying the new Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8 zoom lens is that I can’t compete professionally with the 24-120mm zoom lens. The Nikon 24-70 is much sharper (razor) and the color renditions are breath taking, not to mention the speed. I have tried to get away with spending a third the price and it just doesn’t cut it in the world of pro photography! I will however miss the versitility of the zooming focal length of 24-120mm, what a spread! The 24-120mm is a lens I will take on vacation with a D300 and it will be more then enough to ring back some good shots. Most of my shooting will take place outside in sunlight. If you don’t need to compete to make a living in photography, save yourself a lot of money and get the Nikon 24-120mm f/3.5 zoom lens. It’s a wonderful lens and will always be one of my favorite fun lenses!

More Nikon 24-120mm Reviews from Amazon:

Check out Amazon.com for more reviews of Nikon’s 24-120mm, it has more consumer reviews and reports than any other site online:

reviews of nikon 24-120mm

Price Range: $XXX to $649.99
Best Price: $$ Click To See Today’s Sale Price $$


Nikon 24-120mm Lens Review By Gary Willner (New York, New York)
- More Reviews from Amazon.com

Leave a Reply

