Nikkor 70-300 f/4-5.6 Review

Nikkor 30-700 f/4-5.6 Review

“Definitely worth $150!”

nikon nikkor 70-300 f/4-5.6G

I bought the D50 with the 2 kit lenses (18-55 and 55-200). At the beach shooting surfers I came up a bit short. Photographing birds I came up short. Even photographing sunsets was a bit wimpy. So I knew I needed just a bit more “firepower.”

So I did some research, including Amazon, and thought I’d give the 70-300G a try. I bought it from a local dealer in case I needed to return it. The first day was rainy, so the lens was shooting at f/4-5.6 and I wasn’t impressed. But the next day I headed out to a local bird santuary, and wow! The extra power of a 300 makes a bit difference.

The reviews here are right on. If you need a low light lens, this isn’t it. But if you’re willing to live with a setting of f11 for the 300mm setting, the quality is superb. To be honest Nikon probably shouldn’t even call this an f4-5.6, but a f5.6-f8 lens, and the settings shouldn’t allow any larger openings (I usually set my camera in aperature priroty at f11 when I put the lens on). It is also very slow to focus in low light situations, if at all (the worst I’ve found is fireworks); in those cases I usually focus manually.

For me, a 300mm lens is a drastic improvement over a 200mm. If you find yourself usually shooting in daylight, this lens will do it for you. You’ll be amazed at the pictures. Like another reviewer said, everyone with a D50 or D70 should own one. In fact I would recommend it over the 55-200mm. If you need to shoot in low light situations and you need the whole 300mm, you’ll need to spend a lot more.

UPDATE: I’ve been using the lens for a couple months now, and am still very happy with it. The pictures are great, and I am still sold on the extra power. In fact, I’d be willing to sell my 55-200mm and keep this.

More Nikon 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Reviews from Amazon:

Check out Amazon.com for more reviews of Nikon’s 70-300mm f/4-5.6, it has more consumer reviews and reports than any other site online:

reviews of nikon 70-300mm

Price Range: $XXX to $179.95
Best Price: $$ Click To See Today’s Sale Price $$


Nikkor 30-700 f/4-5.6 Review By M. Basil "mikey_bikey" (Canada, eh?)
- More Reviews from Amazon.com

Leave a Reply

