Nikkor 200-400mm Lens Review

Nikkor 200-400mm Lens Review

“Worth every penny!”

nikon nikkor 200-400

I purchased this lens a few days ago and now I see what all the fuss was about. I could have had the 80-400 but it focuses way too slow. Dreadful. I guess I have been spoiled with the AFS lenses. Well this one will not let you down.

THE GOOD:
The lens is balanced, you notice that right away. You can hand-hold the lens and it is not front-heavy like the 600/4 is. You point it somewhere and it will not try to leap out of your arms like a hyperactive terrier.

The build is very nice. None of the ugly cheap plastic on the barrel as you see on inexpensive zooms. This is well made, in Japan. No expense was spared.

The results are phenomenal. I zoomed in on the laptop and the image was pixelating and still retained sharpness! I will only hand-hold this lens but I am 6’4 and 240lbs.

THE BAD:
Amazon recommends Tiffen filters. I say stick with Nikon because the filter is part of the optical calculation (you need a filter and cannot shoot without one). Yes they cost more but this is not a time to get cheap.

It is heavy. It needs a very wide strap, like for a mailbag. Nikon should have included one if you ask me.

It needs the TC-14E II. The lens is a 200-400 zoom on my D700 but with a 1.4x it becomes a 280-560mm. Once you break 500mm a whole new world opens up for you.

Now I thought of the 300mm as well, and used to own one when the F5 came out. But I always used a TC to get to 600mm. This way I keep image quality and have many options for focal length. The results are worth every penny!

More Nikon 200-400mm Reviews from Amazon:

Check out Amazon.com for more reviews of Nikon’s 200-400mm, it has more consumer reviews and reports than any other site online:

reviews of nikon 200-400mm

Price Range: $XXXX to $5999.79
Best Price: $$ Click To See Today’s Sale Price $$


Nikkor 200-400mm Lens Review By R. McLaughlin (US Army, deployed.)
- More Reviews from Amazon.com

Leave a Reply

