Nikon Coolpix S710 Digital Camera Review

Quote: “Quick Review”
Rating: Nikon Coolpix S710 Digital Camera Review
Review From: Kate Patsch at Amazon.com

I had the canon sd870 Canon PowerShot SD870IS 8MP Digital Camera with 3.8x Wide Angle Optical Image Stabilized Zoom (Silver) but returned it because the wide angle lens had too much distortion.

This camera looked really nice and had great technical specs so I pre-ordered it. I waited and waited and finally it came in the mail and within a day I sent it back. It is a plastic piece of crap. It is loud, big, heavy, cheap feeling and cumbersome to operate. The pictures were alright but nothing to brag about or pay this amount of money for.

I just ordered the canon sd880 Canon PowerShot SD880IS 10MP Digital Camera with 4x Wide Angle Optical Image Stabilized Zoom (Gold)And I love it, it is great and I couldn’t ask for anything more.

I was trying to be open minded and try Nikon out but they just disappointed me. I’m not a canon fanatic I promise, they are just a really reliable brand and are built really well. I know that all higher- end SLR’s and lenses are on par with each other from all companies. It’s just Nikon fell short with their point and shoots.

1 Comment »

  1. 1
    Fredrick O. Smetana Says:

    I just acquired a graphite black version. Although I’ve had very little experience with it as yet, I know it’s not plasic but stainless steel. In macro mode I got some very good resolution shots of some very fine printed type. I’ve spent most of my time with it reading the manual. I’ve also looked at a review done in Austrailia. I like the fact that one can record 20 second audio messages with each pic. The resolution is best at ISO 100. The flash is best at ISO 200. I have 4 Nikon SLR bodies, two film and two digital but I wanted something small and light to carry around for what comes up. I also have a Sony DSC T200 and an older Pentax Optio VX. As long as you don’t expect DSLR quality from your pics under less than ideal conditions, the s710 should be quite satisfactory. At 6mm ISO 100 you will get excellant pictures, based on my experience to date.


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

